EcoSchools 2018-2019

EcoSchools 2018-2019

Rainbow is once again among the top 10 fastest growing school boards to receive EcoSchools certifications for the 2018-2019 school year. This year, twenty schools were certified – seven achieved gold, 15 achieved silver and three achieved bronze.

In a first, Central Manitoulin Public School and R.L. Beattie Public School were certified platinum, the highest level for Ontario EcoSchools.

Rainbow Schools with EcoSchools designations include:

Adamsdale Public School
Alexander Public School
Assiginack Public School
C.R. Judd Public School
Central Manitoulin Public School
Charles C. McLean Public School
Chelmsford Public School
Copper Cliff Public School
Cyril Varney Public School
Espanola High School
Lansdowne Public School
Larchwood Public School
Lasalle Secondary School
Little Current Public School
Lo-Ellen Park Secondary School
MacLeod Public School
Manitoulin Secondary School
Markstay Public School
Monetville Public School
Queen Elizabeth II Public School
R.L. Beattie Public School
R.H. Murray Public School
Redwood Acres Public School
S. Geiger Public School
Sudbury Secondary School
Valley View Public School
Walden Public School

Ontario EcoSchools is an environmental education and certification program that helps school communities develop ecological literacy and improve environmental practices to reduce their ecological footprint.

Certification recognizes achievement in six areas:

  • ecological literacy
  • energy consumption
  • environmental stewardship
  • school ground greening
  • teamwork and leadership
  • waste minimization

Rainbow District School Board is committed to educating staff and students to conserve energy, minimize waste, and  the knowledge, skills, perspectives and practices needed to become environmentally responsible citizens.