Rainbow District School Board

MINUTES OF THE ORGANIZATIONAL BOARD MEETING

held in the Ernie Checkeris Boardroom in the Centre for Education, 408 Wembley Drive, Sudbury on Monday, December 3, 2018 at 5:00 p.m.

Present: Trustees: B. Clement, D. Dewar, A. Gibson, J. Hunda, J.

Kosmerly, D. Morrison, K. St. Jean, M. Stringer,

Student Trustee H. Golden

Officials: N. Blaseg - Director and Secretary of the Board

D. Bazinet – Superintendent of Business

B. Bourget, J. Noble, K. Wachnuk - Superintendents

N. Charette, H. Thirkill

Others: C. McDonald, T. Batchilder, G. Gauthier, D. Kitching

and members of the public

1. REVIEW OF ELECTION RESULTS AND INTRODUCTION OF TRUSTEES

Director Blaseg read a list of members elected to Rainbow District School Board as a result of the October 22, 2018 Municipal Election.

Area 1	Kerrie St. Jean
Area 2	Anita Gibson
Area 3	Judy Kosmerly
Area 4	Dena Morrison
Area 5	Doreen Dewar
Area 6	Judy Hunda
Area 7	Margaret Stringe
Area 8	Bob Clement

2. DECLARATION OF OFFICE AND OATH OF ALLEGIANCE

Director Norm Blaseg introduced Justice of the Peace John Gary McMahon to administer the Declaration of Office and Oath of Allegiance.

3. FIRST NATIONS REPRESENTATION

The 11 First Nations communities who have educational service agreements with the Board will announce the Trustee who will represent them at a later date.

4. Approval of Agenda

Motion: 19-R01, J.Hunda/J.Kosmerly

That the agenda for the Organizational meeting of the Board of December 3, 2018 be approved. **- Carried**

The Secretary of the Board, Norm Blaseg, appointed Superintendent Bruce Bourget and Superintendent Judy Noble as scrutineers.

5. Election of Chair

Director Blaseg called for nominations for the position of Chair of Rainbow District School Board.

Bob Clement nominated Doreen Dewar. Anita Gibson nominated Dena Morrison.

a) Motion: 19-R02, J.Hunda/J.Kosmerly
That nominations be closed. - Carried

Dena Morrison withdrew her name for the position of chair Doreen Dewar confirmed her willingness to stand for this office.

- b) Motion: 19-R03, A.Gibson/J.Kosmerly
 That Doreen Dewar be declared acclaimed Chair of Rainbow
 District School Board. Carried
- 6. In-Coming Chair's Remarks NIL
- 7. Presentation to Outgoing Chair NIL

8. Past Chair's Remarks

I want to thank the trustees for your support over the past year as we continued to focus on the pillars of our Strategic Directions; namely, "Reaching minds and Touching hearts".

Guided by our dedicated staff and supported by our parents/guardians, the community, and the elected officials, students in Rainbow Schools engage in a wealth of exciting learning opportunities from Kindergarten to Grade 12.

I thank our educators, administrators and support staff for inspiring success in all students. I also thank our many partners in education for being champions for student success.

I would like to close with a thought - not just for the month but perhaps for the next four years. It is from an unknown, but very wise author, who said, "Be decisive. Right or wrong, make a decision. The road of life is paved with flat squirrels who couldn't make a decision".

Trustees of the 2018-2022 Rainbow District School Board: it is a privilege to serve.

Thank you.

9. **Election of Vice-Chair**

Chair Dewar called for nominations for the position of Vice-Chair of Rainbow District School Board.

Bob Clement nominated Dena Morrison for the position of Vice-Chair.

a) Motion: 19-R04, B.Clement/J.Hunda
That nominations be closed. **– Carried**

Trustee Morrison confirmed her willingness to stand for this office.

b) Motion: 19-R05, A.Gibson/K.St.Jean
That Dena Morrison be declared acclaimed Vice-Chair of Rainbow
District School Board. – Carried

10. <u>Membership on Standing Board Committees</u>

Trustees submitted names to appear on the ballots for the various Board committees. Nominations were also accepted from the floor. If required, a vote by secret ballot was conducted for each committee.

Motion: 19-R06, A.Gibson/M.Stringer

That the membership on Standing Board Committees be approved.

Carried

Accessibility Planning Committee

Trustee Judy Kosmerly

Audit Committee (year 1 of 4)

Trustee Judy Hunda Trustee Dena Morrison Trustee Margaret Stringer

Environmental Education Committee

Trustee Judy Hunda Student Trustee Hannah Golden

Equity and Inclusive Education Committee

Trustee Bob Clement

Trustee Judy Kosmerly Trustee Kerrie St. Jean

First Nations Advisory Committee

First Nation Trustee (TBD)
Trustee Bob Clement
Trustee Margaret Stringer

Labour Relations Committee

Trustee Bob Clement
Trustee Judy Kosmerly
Trustee Dena Morrison
Trustee Margaret Stringer

Parent Involvement Committee

Trustee Judy Kosmerly Trustee Kerrie St. Jean

School Year Structure Committee

Trustee Bob Clement Trustee Anita Gibson Student Trustee Hannah Golden

Special Education Advisory Committee (SEAC)

Trustee Judy Kosmerly
Trustee Margaret Stringer
Trustee Bob Clement (alternate)
Trustee Kerrie St. Jean (alternate)

Strategic Planning Committee

Trustee Bob Clement
Trustee Doreen Dewar
Trustee Anita Gibson
Trustee Judy Hunda
Trustee Judy Kosmerly
Trustee Dena Morrison
Trustee Kerrie St. Jean
Trustee Margaret Stringer
First Nation Trustee (TBA)

Student Senate

Trustee Bob Clement
Trustee Judy Hunda
Student Trustee Hannah Golden

11. OPSBA (Ontario Public School Boards' Association)

a) **Delegate**

Judy Kosmerly nominated Bob Clement.

Motion: 19-R07, D.Morrison/J.Kosmerly That nominations be closed. - Carried

Trustee Clement confirmed his willingness to stand as the delegate for OPSBA.

2. Motion: 19-R08, J.Kosmerly/D.Morrison

That Bob Clement be declared acclaimed Rainbow District School Board's voting delegate to the Ontario Public School Board's Association. - Carried

b) **Alternate**

Dena Morrison nominated Judy Hunda. Judy Hunda nominated Judy Kosmerly. Judy Hunda withdrew her name.

Judy Kosmerly confirmed her willingness to stand as the delegate for OPSBA Alternate.

1. <u>Motion: 19-R09, J.Kosmerly/ D.Morrison</u> That nominations be closed. - **Carried**

2. Motion: 19-R10, M.Stringer/J.Hunda

That Judy Kosmerly be declared acclaimed Rainbow District School Board's voting alternate to the Ontario School Boards' Association.

- Carried

12. Board Policy No. GOV-05 Code of Conduct: Board Members

At the Annual Organizational Meeting, two alternate Trustees shall be chosen by the Board to be used when the circumstance warrant that one or both Trustees are needed in place of the Chair and/or Vice-Chair to carry out the duties required under these Enforcement Procedures.

a) Call for nominations.

Dena Morrison nominated Judy Hunda. Kerrie St. Jean nominated Margaret Stringer.

Motion: 19-R11, D.Morrison/K.St.Jean
That nominations be closed. - Carried

Motion: 19-R12, D.Morrison/M.Stringer

That Judy Hunda be declared acclaimed first alternate as per Board Policy No. GOV-05 Code of Conduct: Board Members. - Carried

b) Call for nominations. Kerrie St. Jean nominated Margaret Stringer.

Motion: 19-R13, J.Kosmerly/D.Morrison That nominations be closed. - Carried

Margaret Stringer confirmed her willingness to stand as the delegate for second alternate.

Motion: 19-R14, D. Morrison/K.St.Jean

That Margaret Stringer be declared acclaimed second alternate as per Board Policy No. GOV-05 Code of Conduct: Board Members. - Carried

13. **BALLOTS**

Motion: 19-R15 B.Clement/D.Morrison

That the ballots for all positions be destroyed. – Carried

14. **Adjournment**

Motion: 19-R16, D.Morrison/A.Gibson

That we now adjourn (6:20 p.m). - Carried