Rainbow District School Board

MINUTES OF THE ORGANIZATIONAL BOARD MEETING

held in the Ernie Checkeris Boardroom in the Centre for Education, 408 Wembley Drive, Sudbury on Tuesday, December 10, 2019 at 5:05 p.m.

Present: Trustees: L. Debassige, B. Clement, D. Dewar, A. Gibson, J.

Hunda, J. Kosmerly, D. Morrison, K. St. Jean, M.

Stringer

Absent: Student Trustee C. Gauvreau
Officials: N. Blaseg - Director of Education

D. Bazinet – Superintendent of Business

B. Bourget, J. Noble, K. Wachnuk - Superintendents

N. Charette, H. Thirkill

1. Call to Order

Director Blaseg called the meeting to order.

2. **Approval of Agenda**

Motion: 20-R01, J.Kosmerly/A.Gibson

That the agenda for the Organizational meeting of the Board of December 10, 2019 be approved. **- Carried**

3. Election of Chair

Director Blaseg called for nominations for the position of Chair of Rainbow District School Board.

Judy Kosmerly nominated Doreen Dewar.

- a) Motion: 20-R02, J.Hunda/B.Clement
 That nominations be closed. Carried
- b) Motion: 20-R03, M.Stringer/B.Clement
 That Doreen Dewar be declared acclaimed Chair of Rainbow
 District School Board. Carried
- 4. <u>In-Coming Chair's Remarks</u> NIL
- 5. **Presentation to Outgoing Chair** NIL
- 6. Past Chair's Remarks NIL
- 7. Election of Vice-Chair

Bob Clement nominated Dena Morrison for the position of Vice-Chair.

a) Motion: 20-R04, M.Stringer/B.Clement That nominations be closed. - Carried

b) Motion: 20-R05, J.Hunda/M.Stringer That Dena Morrison be declared acclaimed Vice-Chair of Rainbow District School Board. – Carried

8. Recommendation from Strategic Planning Committee

Motion: 20-R06, D.Morrison/J.Kosmerly

That the changes to Committee Information (as attached) be approved.

- Carried

9. <u>Membership on Standing Board Committees</u>

Motion: 20-R07, D.Morrison/B.Clement

That the membership on Standing Board Committees be approved.

- Carried

Accessibility Planning Committee

Trustee Kerrie St. Jean

Audit Committee (year 2 of 4)

Trustee Judy Hunda
Trustee Dena Morrison
Trustee Margaret Stringer

Environmental Education Committee

Trustee Judy Hunda Student Trustee Colleen Gauvreau

Equity and Inclusive Education Committee

Trustee Bob Clement Trustee Linda Debassige Trustee Judy Kosmerly

First Nations Advisory Committee

Trustee Bob Clement
Trustee Linda Debassige
Trustee Margaret Stringer

Labour Relations Committee

Trustee Bob Clement Trustee Judy Hunda Trustee Judy Kosmerly Trustee Dena Morrison Trustee Margaret Stringer

Parent Involvement Committee

Trustee Judy Kosmerly

School Year Structure Committee

Trustee Anita Gibson
Trustee Kerrie St. Jean
Student Trustee Colleen Gauvreu

Special Education Advisory Committee (SEAC)

Trustee Kerrie St. Jean
Trustee Margaret Stringer
Trustee Judy Kosmerly (alternate)
Trustee Dena Morrison (alternate)

Strategic Planning Committee

Trustee Bob Clement
Trustee Linda Debassige
Trustee Doreen Dewar
Trustee Anita Gibson
Trustee Judy Hunda
Trustee Judy Kosmerly
Trustee Dena Morrison
Trustee Kerrie St. Jean
Trustee Margaret Stringer

Student Senate

Trustee Bob Clement
Trustee Judy Hunda
Student Trustee Colleen Gauvreau

10. OPSBA (Ontario Public School Boards' Association)

a) OPSBA Director

Judy Kosmerly nominated Bob Clement.

- 1. Motion: 20-R08, J.Hunda/D.Morrison
 That nominations be closed. Carried
- Motion: 20-R09, J.Kosmerly/J.Hunda
 That Bob Clement be declared acclaimed Rainbow District School Board's voting delegate to the Ontario Public School Board's Association. Carried

b) Alternate Director

Bob Clement nominated Judy Kosmerly.

1. <u>Motion: 20-R10, D.Morrison/B.Clement</u>
That nominations be closed. - Carried

2. Motion: 20-R11, J.Hunda/K.St.Jean

That Judy Kosmerly be declared acclaimed Rainbow District School Board's voting alternate to the Ontario School Boards' Association.

- Carried

11. Board Policy No. GOV-05 Code of Conduct: Board Members

At the Annual Organizational Meeting, two alternate Trustees shall be chosen by the Board to be used when the circumstance warrant that one or both Trustees are needed in place of the Chair and/or Vice-Chair to carry out the duties required under these Enforcement Procedures.

a) Call for nominations. Margaret Stringer nominated Linda Debassige.

Motion: 20-R12, K.St.Jean/J.Kosmerly That nominations be closed. **- Carried**

Motion: 20-R13, J.Kosmerly/K.St.Jean

That Linda Debassige be declared acclaimed first alternate as per Board Policy No. GOV-05 Code of Conduct: Board Members. - Carried

b) Call for nominations. Bob Clement nominated Judy Kosmerly.

Motion: 20-R14, B.Clement/M.Stringer That nominations be closed. - Carried

Motion: 20-R15, K.St.Jean/D.Morrison

That Judy Kosmerly be declared acclaimed second alternate as per Board Policy No. GOV-05 Code of Conduct: Board Members. - Carried

12. **BALLOTS**

Motion: 20-R16, D.Morrison/B.Clement
That the ballots for all positions be destroyed. - Carried

13. Adjournment

Motion: 20-R17, D.Morrison/J.Kosmerly
That we now adjourn (5:35 p.m.). - Carried