# RAINBOW DISTRICT SCHOOL BOARD **OFFICIAL MINUTES OF THE** SPECIAL BOARD MEETING

held electronically via Google Meet in the Ernie Checkeris Boardroom at the Centre for Education, 408 Wembley Drive on Tuesday, August 3, 2021 at 5:00 p.m.

Trustees: D. Dewar (Chair), B. Clement, L. Debassige A. Gibson, J. Present:

Hunda, J. Kosmerly, D. Morrison, K. St. Jean, M. Stringer

Officials: N. Blaseg – Director and Secretary of the Board

D. Bazinet – Superintendent of Business

B. Bourget, J. Noble, K. Wachnuk - Superintendents

N. Charette, H. Thirkill

Others: N. Cecchetto, T. Hayes, D. Kitching, N. Mousseau

Chair Dewar advised that the meeting was being live-streamed.

Chair Dewar read a declaration of land acknowledgement aloud.

Director Blaseg completed roll call to establish who was participating in the Google Meet Board meeting.

#### Α. **APPROVAL OF AGENDA**

Motion: 21-R80, J.Kosmerly/J.Hunda

That the agenda for the Special Board meeting of August 3, 2021 be approved

#### Poll vote

Bob Clement: In-favour Linda Debassige: In-favour Doreen Dewar: In-favour Anita Gibson: In-favour Judy Hunda: In-favour Judy Kosmerly: In-favour Dena Morrison: In-favour Kerrie St Jean: In-favour Margaret Stringer: In-favour

Carried

#### B. PRELIMINARY DECLARATIONS OF PECUNIARY INTEREST NIL

#### C. REPORT FROM THE SPECIAL IN-CAMERA COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE **MEETING OF THE BOARD**

Motion: 21-R81, D.Morrison/B.Clement

That Rainbow District School Board appoint Bruce Bourget as the Director of Education effective September 1, 2021.

# Amendment: A21-R01, A.Gibson/D.Morrison

That the motion be amended by the addition of the words "to August 31, 2026".

### Poll vote

Bob Clement: In-favour Linda Debassige: In-favour Doreen Dewar: In-favour Anita Gibson: In-favour Judy Hunda: In-favour Judy Kosmerly: In-favour Dena Morrison: In-favour Kerrie St Jean: In-favour Margaret Stringer: In-favour

## - Carried unanimously

## Motion: 21-R81, D.Morrison/B.Clement

That Rainbow District School Board appoint Bruce Bourget as the Director of Education effective September 1, 2021 to August 31, 2026.

### Poll vote

Bob Clement: In-favour Linda Debassige: In-favour Doreen Dewar: In-favour Anita Gibson: In-favour Judy Hunda: In-favour Judy Kosmerly: In-favour Dena Morrison: In-favour Kerrie St Jean: In-favour Margaret Stringer: In-favour

# - Carried unanimously

# D. ADJOURNMENT

Motion: 21-R82, D.Morrison/M.Stringer

That we do now adjourn at 5:13 pm. - Carried