EcoSchools 2019-2020

EcoSchools 2019-2020

Rainbow is among the  fastest growing school boards to receive EcoSchools certifications.

For the 2019-2020 school year, 38 Rainbow Schools received certification.

Elementary schools:

Adamsdale Public School
Alexander Public School
Algonquin Road Public School
Assiginack Public School
C.R. Judd Public School
Carl A. Nesbitt Public School
Central Manitoulin Public School
Charles C. McLean Public School
Churchill Public School
Copper Cliff Public School
Cyril Varney Public School
Jean Hanson Public School
Lansdowne Public School
Larchwood Public School
Levack Public School
Little Current Public School
MacLeod Public School
Monetville Public School
Northeastern Elementary School
Princess Anne Public School
Queen Elizabeth II Public School
R.L. Beattie Public School
R.H. Murray Public School
S. Geiger Public School
Valley View Public School
Walden Public School
Westmount Avenue Public School

Secondary schools:

Barrydowne College
Confederation Secondary School
Espanola High School
Lasalle Secondary School
Lively District Secondary School
Lo-Ellen Park Secondary School
Lockerby Composite School
Manitoulin Secondary School
Sudbury Secondary School

Ontario EcoSchools is an environmental education and certification program that helps school communities develop ecological literacy and improve environmental practices to reduce their ecological footprint.

Certification recognizes achievement in six areas:

  • ecological literacy
  • energy consumption
  • environmental stewardship
  • school ground greening
  • teamwork and leadership
  • waste minimization

Rainbow District School Board is committed to educating staff and students to conserve energy, minimize waste, and  the knowledge, skills, perspectives and practices needed to become environmentally responsible citizens.